When you get a service dog, there is always the risk of not being able to keep the dog. Let me tell you what… that will most likely be one of the most difficult decisions you will ever have to make. I am one of those who have had to make that decision.


This is Keen. He was a rescue dog that was trained to be my service dog through a program. He lasted a good two years before I had to make the decision to find a new home for him. The trainer I worked with through the program, taught me how to train Keen. So, I guess you could say we co-trained him.

One day, I got off work and let Keen out of my truck to potty at home. While I was unloading I saw Keen bolt for my neighbor (whom he has seen many times before) in an aggressive demeanor. Sure enough, Keen bit my neighbor. So, he was disqualified for service dog work.

But all is not lost. The day after we returned Keen to the shelter, a litter of yellow labs were born. We immediately reserved a male, and seven weeks later, I finally got to take Noble home

img_0277He is a very happy, but mellow boy and loves to snuggle. You know what the best part is? He has got quite the sniffer on him, and is very trainable. For the next couple weeks, I will mainly be getting him reliable on the potty training, but I will be working in some basic commands as well.

I am very happy with Noble, and certain that I have the abilities and knowledge to train him as my service dog. If you want to know how it all goes, follimg_0309ow my blog. I am both excited and terrified to continue my journey with Noble, and intend to share all the nitty gritty details of the process with you all.

 

Leave a Reply

