Potty Training

The most dreaded part about having a puppy is the potty training. For most people, having to potty train a dog is a deal breaker. Who has the patience? Well… It is possible and quite easy if you stick to it.

How do I make it through?

The trick is to use their kennel. Sounds kind of cruel to keep your puppy that is full of energy in their kennel most of the day, but it works. A puppy needs as much sleep as your two year old does. The crying is all a test… Don’t fall for it.

The second most valuable trick is frequency. If you have your puppy out, potty them every ten or less minutes. Depending on how recently they have had food or water. Everything goes right through them and its gonna come out whether you like it or not.

The thing that has worked the best for me is to monitor Noble’s water intake. Some people don’t like this idea, and you don’t have to use it, but a 10 pound puppy really only needs 5-10 ounces a day. So if you only let them drink as much water as they want twice a day, they will be just fine. I will also give Noble extra water if it is hot out.

How does my day look like when I’m potty training?

  • I get up at a scheduled time and potty Noble right away, and then feed and water him.
  • Then I let him out again.
  • I let him play for an hour with potty breaks every 10 minutes.
  • Then I put him back in his kennel for 2-3 hours.
  • He then gets let out again and put back in his kennel for 2 hours.
  • He then plays for 1-1.5 hours and put in his kennel for 4 more hours.
  • I get home and feed and water him, and then potty him.
  • He plays for 1-2 hours and then pottied one last time before being put in his kennel for the night.
  • I get up once or twice during the night for the first three weeks to potty Noble.

I sure hope this helps you figure out what works best for you and your puppy. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

