Crate Training

 

Oh yes… Another joy of having a puppy (She said sarcastically). At the age of 8-16 weeks, you have to potty train and crate train your puppy simultaneously. When I first got Keen, he was about 14 weeks old and could make all through the night without potty breaks. At least that’s what I remember. Keen spent most of his time at the trainer’s and she took care of potty training and crate training.

Anyways, Keen was older than Noble is and I keep holding him up to impossible standards. Such as, making through the night without having to potty. Waking up in the middle of the night and walking up stairs and standing out in the cold, can make a girl grumpy. So, I try not to have to get out of my warm bed.

The other issue is that it takes me forever to fall asleep, but once I do, the house could fall on me and I wouldn’t wake up. Sometimes I will wake up in the morning and be so proud of the fact that Noble only woke up once, and I later discover that my parents and siblings were taking Noble out during the night.

The first couple weeks that I had Noble, I understood that Noble couldn’t make it through the night. But as time went on, I would let him out and he would just sit in the yard wagging his tail… Yup. I fell for his false alarm. Now Noble knows that it works and spends most of his time crying in his kennel.

Now, I have to evaluate whether or not Noble’s cries are legitimate. Which makes for and even longer night and earlier morning…

Leave a Reply

