Alerting AND Responding

This past weekend was an interesting one. My family and I have moved and still moving. So, we went to the old house to do some cleaning and I brought Noble to help make a mess. I was in the basement with Noble and I ended up having one of my seizures.

I don’t remember what happened before the seizure, but I’m pretty sure he was alerting if I had paid attention. Anyways, my mom had come downstairs when she heard me and came to find Noble responding to the seizure. I haven’t worked with him on this yet, so he naturally knows what to do.

Seizure response is where he licks myface and lays on me to apply Deep Pressure Therapy (DPT). This helps me come out of the seizure much faster. Instead of my episode lasting 10+ minutes, it only lasted about 5 minutes.

fullsizeoutput_e2A couple days later, I was driving to work and Noble kept licking my face and leaning on me. I was getting annoyed because I was driving, so I just kept pushing him off me. Eventually, I realized that he was alerting me and turned around to go back home.

I am over the moon with excitement that Noble is naturally performing these tasks. This means that he will graduate to “Service Dog” status a lot faster. He will be amazing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

